St. Vincent: A Leeftail Review

St. Vincent isn't a movie I would call noscible*.

St. Vincent isn’t a movie I would call noscible*.

OKLAHOMA CITY – It is super random that I watched St. Vincent. A couple of weeks ago, in ten minutes, I went from never having heard of it to buying tickets and grabbing seats. How that happened doesn’t matter. I’m not here to talk about the past. I want to talk about the future, and the future includes my review of St. Vincent, a movie I watched in the past. Oh nooo!! My future is my past is my future is my past!! It’s like when the only way to fly is to start burrowing!! Or, it’s like, my favorite philosophers are the 24-second shot clock! It doesn’t make any sense, and yet it makes complete sense!! My logic is experiencing coherentific*and cosmogyral* circumbilivagination*!!! By the way – I think this review is on the cusp of being sucked into the Black Hole from Interstellar!! I’d better move on before this gets any weirder!!!!!!!

So St. Vincent – it’s pretty okay. It is a low (ish) budget, inclusive, postmodern movie, and I appreciate that it never tries to be anything else. I also appreciate the genuinely touching moments that lend a remarkably charming quality to the picture. I would almost say St. Vincent is a family-friendly film if not for the prostitution, pole-dancing, gambling, drinking, adultery and a really egregious application of the F word. But seriously, all that stuff is in the film and somehow it almost doesn’t feel as dirty as it is, I suppose because all the naughty stuff feels balanced out by the aforementioned touching/wholesome moments.

At its core, St. Vincent is a film for anyone who likes to consider humanity at its best and worst, for that is what is to be found in Vincent (played by Bill Murray). A degenerate drinker/gambler/John, Vincent is wallowing in perpetual misconduct until one day, a newly divorced mother moves in next door with her school-age son, Oliver. Vincent finds himself thrust into watching Oliver after school, and the experience (predictably) turns out good for both parties. Ultimately, Vincent’s admirable side comes out, reminding us that virtue can be found in even the most thoroughly unsavory curmudgeons.

From a technical standpoint, while St. Vincent is well shot and respectably acted, I largely found it bereft of anything to demand a viewing on the big screen. Since the movie’s appeal lies in the story, it can be enjoyed equally in a theater or at home.

In the end, I have a lot of good things to say about St. Vincent and yet, I just don’t like it very much. It’s like being in a relationship with someone that should work but for some reason simply doesn’t. I think I finally found Vincent’s simultaneously extremely noble and extremely seedy character to be a bit unrealistic. Also, despite the many warm moments, I struggle to look past some of the more offensive content. Still, it is a movie, and if you like to watch movies, well, it is one, and it can be watched. To me, the film is a 6/10.

* This word can be found here: http://phrontistery.info/clw1.html.

Grant Stevens likes movies and books, and he really enjoys apologetics.

Leave a Reply

